top of page

Book review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover


**prepare for a mushy book review and SPOILERS!!!*

I am so excited to review one of my all-time favorite books that I have reread probably ten times (no shame!). I give this book 5 stars, and I might be biased! When I first saw this book in Barnes and Noble under the "Teen Romance" section, I was hooked because it's one of my favorite genres.

Hoover instantly captivates you when you open the book to the prologue. It gives you a little taste of where the book is going to go and it's not your typical romance novel. When Sky meets Dean Holder her life gets flipped upside down. He is the first guy to actually make her feel some type of butterflies.

“I saw a guy at the store after school, and holy shit, Six. He was beautiful. Scary, but beautiful….as soon as I looked at him, it was like my entire body melted to the floor. He was… Wow.”

Dean Holder was your typical mysterious bad boy with a temper that stole every girls heart with just one look. I loved watching their relationship develop with every page turn and everything that they felt for each other and went through together felt so real.

Hoover made you feel everything through Sky's eyes. I fell in love with Dean through her eyes, felt her confusion, pain, and heartache and I also felt her healing. The way the series of events panned out was so cultivating and real that it made you question if Hoover based this off of a true story.

Basically, this is a story about finding yourself as well as finding love. It is about opening yourself to people and not holding anything back. It's about coping with tragedy and how to overcome it and move on with your life.

I'm so excited for you all to read it and I promise that you will enjoy it!


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page